#instaEssex

Early 2016 Essex Country Council held the first #instaessex photography competition looking for images that represented Essex, a county in England just outside of London.

I took great pleasure in putting together my five entries for this competition. I wanted to showcase the beauty that Essex could offer and also push myself to be creative in the area that I grew up in. Of course, I wanted one of my images to win, but ultimately my main aim for this competition was for some exposure.

I entered the following five images:

 

Over 130 images were entered by both amateur and professional photographers.  The other fifteen entrants can be seen here. To my surprise, my BasVegasWood image was nominated as one of the top 15 of the competition.

The Basildon Hollywood sign.
BasVegasWood The Basildon Hollywood sign.

Being in the top 15, I was able to gain the exposure that I wanted as my image is currently on display at London’s Liverpool Street Station, one of the main stations in London that ferries travellers out into Essex. The image will then move to further branch line stations. This gives my image a potential audience of millions as people pass by everyday.

If you have a chance to visit before the images are moved, pop by and see them at the Liverpool Street concourse.

 

Entering competitions is a great way for people to see your photography.  Regardless of where you place, a picture is made to be viewed and shared and competitions is a great way of doing this. You never know where your images may end up.

Paul

http://www.paulkporterphotography.com

And remember to follow my journey :)

Instagram: @paulkporter

  #explorewithpaul   #paulkporterphotography

Twitter: @paulkporter

Facebook: paulkporterphotography

Snapchat: paulkporter

 

Leave a Reply

